Board member recognition and election highlight 2020 annual meeting

Foundation News

Board member recognition and election highlight 2020 annual meeting

The Hutcherson Flying Queens Foundation (HFQF) recognized four members who cycled off or resigned from the Board of Directors while six new Board members were approved by a unanimous vote at the Foundation’s 2020 annual meeting, held Saturday, Nov. 6 by Zoom.

Board member changes

President Linda Price recognized Board members Barbara McAninch, Kristy Noble, Cynthia Gerber, and Linda Tucker, who are cycling off the Foundation Board of Directors. McAninch, Noble, and Tucker were a part of the original Board of Director when the Foundation was formed in 2012. Gerber, a member of the Claude Hutcherson family and a newer Board member, resigned in October 2020 due to family and personal obligations.

Six Foundation Members were elected to the Board of Directors by a unanimous vote. Four were elected as new Board members and two were confirmed and a one-year Board replacements while Cherri Rapp was granted a one-year transition period as treasurer. Joining the Board beginning January 1, 2021, are Rosemary Brown Bowser, Kathy Harston, Kathy Booth Loter, and Darla Merrill and Board replacements Valerie Goodwin-Colbert and Sheryl Estes.

Governance updates

Secretary Barbara McAninch reviewed the recent bylaws updates that included expanding the Foundation’s purpose, establishing a voting members category with annual dues, and clarifying that Board terms will begin on January 1 and end December 31 each year.

Treasurer Cherri Rapp reported on the overall financials from the Sept. 6, 2019 annual meeting through Oct. 31, 2020.

Pandemic doesn’t stop support for the Flying Queens program

Price shared that despite the restrictions of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Foundation was able to provide program enhancements for the Flying Queens program with the purchase of a scouting service and presentation of plaques to the 2019-2020 players for the team’s success during the shortened 2019-2020 season. Last year’s Flying Queens went 31-2, won a Sooner Athletic Conference regular-season co-championship and SAC Tournament title, was on a 28-game winning streak, and were the No. 2 overall seed in the national tournament when play was halted by COVID-19.

The Foundation continues to work with Wayland Baptist University leaders on a permanent space for the Flying Queens program in the Museum of the Llano Estacado on the Wayland campus.

Even with a slowdown in fundraising in 2020, the Foundation raised $20,000 to celebrate Coach Harley Redin’s 100th birthday and continues to make plans for the Foundation’s golf tournament in 2021.

Price recognized Dr. Sylvia Nadler, who is a 2020 inductee in the Wayland Baptist Athletic Hall of Honor. The induction ceremony will take place on Saturday, Feb. 20, 2021 during Wayland’s homecoming weekend.

Saying goodbye

Price opened the meeting by recognizing three people associated with the Flying Queens program who passed in 2020. Those were Coach Harley Redin, who died Aug. 1, Annie Sue Inmon, who passed Sept. 19, and Raye Wilson Ayers who passed May 19.

Leave a Reply