09/23 Board of Directors meeting summary

Foundation staying on track with team support, improvements, fundraising and a promising new project

The Hutcherson Flying Queens Foundation (HFQF) Sept 23rd Board of Director’s meeting featured program updates and news of an exciting new project. 

Officer updates

Darla Armes Ford, second vice president for team support, has met with Flying Queens Head Coach Jason Cooper abut support for the Queens this season. He has submitted a request for funds to cover airfare to Dubuque, Iowa for the Holiday Inn Express Tip-Off Classic. Ford and Cooper also discussed having former Queens speak to the current Queens players about their experiences as a Flying Queen.

Leanne Waddell South, second vice president for marketing and membership, shared a draft of the revised home page for flyingqueensfoundation.com showing changes to the banner and news layout. New additions include a player’s story section and a calendar of events. A mobile version of the new page is in development.

South reported that the fundraiser honoring former Flying Queens Coach Dean Weese titled “$8600 for 86 Years” had raised $12,719 as of Sept. 22, surpassing the original goal of $8,600. (Note: The total on 09/25/2021 was $13,569.)

Committee making progress on museum project

Four months ago the Foundation created a Heritage committee to explore with Wayland Baptist University the feasibility of creating a permanent display in the Museum of the Llano Estacado on Wayland’s campus. The move was the result of an on-going interest in promoting women’s basketball in meaningful and lasting way, a growing collection of memorabilia gathered for the Naismith enshrinement, and the donation of Coach Redin’s basketball memorabilia to Wayland. The committee’s responsibility is to raise funds for the development and curation of the display.

Currently the committee has pledges totaling one-third of projected needed funds. Marsha Sharp is spearheading the fundraising efforts. Cathy Wilson, an Advisory Council member, is also actively involved on the committee.

Finally, the board appointed four individuals to the Advisory Council. Three are Heritage committee members: Betty Cagle, Mike Hutcherson, and Marsha Sharp. The fourth is Sheri Knesek, a Wayland graduate, who will take on responsibilities as assistant treasurer in the near future.


Leave a Reply